Page 1 of 1

Not saving/Deleting savegames?

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 5:13 pm
by kurt278
I can understand and appreciate the autosave feature, but there are times you don't really want to save; Either because you just messed up horribly, or because you're just playtesting, and don't want phantom saves to litter your game. When you playtest a map, then decide it needs changes, a phantom save stays no matter what you do, even if you delete the map from your "Own Maps" listing.
I don't dare to think how many of those invisible saves are littering my device after having built and playtested half a dozen maps, making constant changes and starting again and again... :shock:

The easiest way to fix this would be to delete any attached saves when you delete a self-made map from the "Own Maps" list. The most safe would be to ask each time the player quits if the game should be saved or not. The most elegant would be to include some savegame management feature (allowing you to delete irrelevant saves).

Re: Not saving/Deleting savegames?

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:48 pm
by Stratego (dev)
to delete any attached saves when you delete a self-made map
this is a good idea
The most safe would be to ask each time the player quits if the game should be saved or not
this is not good way on android since you can get a call and you will not want a dialog before getting a call (and while you are speaking the AOS can be killed by OS)
The most elegant would be to include some savegame management feature (allowing you to delete irrelevant saves).
actually there is one already under the maintenance section - but is am not sure if it works on already deleted "maps".

Re: Not saving/Deleting savegames?

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:22 pm
by kurt278
Daniel (the dev) wrote:
actually there is one already under the maintenance section - but is am not sure if it works on already deleted "maps".
No, it doesn't, at least it doesn't list them.

Besides, unrelated wish - Could you please rearrange the menu in more intuitive categories? I would never had thought of looking into the maintenance menu for deleting saves... I admit it might be just me, but it would be nice to have a clear gameplay/settings separation.